Young people’s behaviour is often influenced by others in the same age group. Some argue that peer pressure is important for personal growth, while other people feel that it has distinct disadvantages. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

As peer pressure among young people is gaining much more concern in recent years, whether it brings merits or becomes a barrier preventing youngsters from performing at their best has also been a topic of interest. Both viewpoints are justifiable, but I personally lean towards the former. On the one hand, peer pressure, in many cases, has an adverse bearing on young people. The objective to be equal or eventually better than other individuals is attributed to a popular problem among youngsters which is the so-called “existential crisis”. This is because comparing oneself to others gives rise to negative behaviours and reduced welfare of youngsters. In addition, following in others’ footsteps is likely to distract young people from pursuing their core purposes and mislead them to be the shadow of their peers instead of developing their special gifts. Another considerable drawback is that competitiveness between those in the same age group easily ruins invaluable innocent relationships between youngsters as they are usually not mature enough to see it as a normal aspect of adolescence. On the other hand, influences from peers can be considered as the most effective motivation for personal development. Thirsting for achieving what other teenagers have can significantly awaken the hidden talents of youngsters since they have to consistently discover and strengthen their skills to keep up with others. Therefore, healthy competitions among individuals in the same age group foster their innovation and somehow help them to find the shortcut to achieve their goals. Competing with other peers has a worth-mentioning contribution to teens’ identity development and clarifying their personal traits. Importantly, working and growing under pressure is also a must-have experience to prepare for young individuals before entering the workforce. In conclusion, peer pressure should no doubt be rated as a welcome factor encouraging young people to positively enhance themselves by helping them discover their talent, clarify personal traits and prepare for the upcoming world of work. However, it may be along with some notable demerits that youngsters need to mitigate in order to avoid fatal challenges in their development.