In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry. Why is this the case? What can be done about this problem?

It is undeniable that the advent of technology has brought progress in agriculture; however, famine is still prevalent among a number of regions. I believe this scenario can be attributed to the unbalance of food distribution as well as the issue of food wasting. In response to these problems, measures should definitely be adopted. The advances made in agriculture do increase the yield of production; however, most of these foods are not exerting their value as the distribution is severely unbalanced. In other words, the edible often goes on the table in many progressive countries in lieu of those where foods are urgently demanded. In addition, the increasing behavior of food wasting has further exacerbated the lingering problem. Many people in big cities, for example, do not cherish their food as they are easily accessible in modern days, fueling the behavior of over buying and eventually resulting in food wasting. To address the problems, governments should formulate related policies to avert the aforementioned situation. Fine can be implemented in order to deter the action of wasting food. By doing so, people will reach the proper amount of victual they need instead of excessive purchase to avoid facing the penalty. On top of that, another more thorough approach is to start from education. Through education in school, students will realize the importance of food and discern how different the situation can be in other regions; moreover, upon the realization of the existing issue, schooler can help their families understand the problem, which can further raise the awareness about the seriousness of food issues. In conclusion, though advances had been made in agriculture, famine still existed due to inequity of food distribution and food washing; hence, measures must be taken in order to eradicate the recurring problem, and helping the populations to lift out of famine.