The internet has changed the way we communicate. Much communication today happens through social media. Some people support this and think it is a positive development. Others believe that social media have negative effects. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In the past twenty years, we have observed an expansion of the internet. Since then, our society has found a new way to interact by using social media. Numerous social media platforms have been created with different features, but most of them have a common factor, connecting people across the globe. While many people think this development is an incredible advance, others think this could cause more harm than benefits. Critics of social media platforms point out some important concerns. Firstly, since the creation of those websites, it has been a steady increase in fake news. This might deeply affect different sectors of our society. Some investigations across the world have shown that fake news posted on social media influenced elections in different countries, such as Brazil and United States. Secondly, there is a security problem. Not only does social media has problems with keeping privacy data from their users, but also there are a lot of scams taking place there. My mother, for instance, bought an expensive product from a seller through Facebook. Not only did she not receive their parcel, but also her credit card information was stolen, and several illegal transactions were done using her data. While I agree that social media must improve, especially regarding privacy and misinformation problems, I do not believe that these current issues outweigh the numerous advantages of its use. In my opinion, social media ’s main benefit is connecting the public. This is particularly relevant for lonely individuals, or for those who live far from their loved ones. From my own experience, for example, I moved to a different country. Not only do I talk with my parents every day using WhatsApp, but I also can share photos on Instagram or Facebook. By doing so, my family can follow my daily activities in a lively manner. If such platforms did not exist, I would need to send those photos by regular mail, which is more expensive and slower. In a nutshell, there are several problems that social media platforms and their developers must solve. However, since their creation, we could say that the world has become smaller, and we are able to talk with people from different parts of the world. Therefore, under no circumstances should allow that those problems hamper the use of such important platforms.