Money spent on space exploration is a complete waste. Governments could better spend this money on other things to benefit the nation. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, people have different views on using resources to research outer space. Some argue that there are more prevalent issues that the authorities should focus on. I completely agree with this statement. I believe that we should first efficiently utilize all means to resolve the problems on our planet. First of all, conducting investigations beyond Earth can take a really long time, which will waste precious resources that could be used for emergencies. For example, researchers have found that the planet Mars could possibly support life, and with the issue of climate change, they believe that Mars could be an option for a second home. However, moving about 8 billion people to another planet is just not feasible as it would take a tremendous amount of provisions just to build and control transportation. Moreover, having to rebuild countries and infrastructures from scratch can take thousands of years, thus this project cannot be completed in one's lifetime, rendering efforts to be considered useless. For that reason, we should use funds more efficiently to promote environmental regulations and implement legislation. For instance, authorities can raise public awareness by actively promoting sustainable behaviour through the media or in-person engagement. Furthermore, enforcing policies such as limiting the expansion of industrial factories can not only protect the natural habitat but also reduce carbon emissions which contribute to global warming, and in turn, speed up climate change In conclusion, the climate crisis is one of the main occurring problems, and depleting provisions to find solutions beyond Earth is too time-consuming and yields little to no result. Therefore, society should prioritize saving the earth they have now and look for ways to preserve their nation