Nowadays congestion and Traffic jams are a common and major problem in most cities. Some people believe it is a good idea to construct wider roads to resolve this issue. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? What can be the solution, in our opinion?

It is undeniable that traffic jams are the most common problem in big cities. While some believe that investing in a wider road can solve this problem, I personally disagree with this statement. Instead of constructing a larger road, the government should provide public transportation and manage working hours. To begin with, many people these days tend to use private vehicles, especially cars and motorcycles. They choose these types of transportation because they think it is more flexible. However, this choice leads to traffic congestion on many routes in the city. Moreover, the same working hours between workers and students also lead the traffic jams, because both workers and students tend to have a similar schedule to go to their workplaces or schools. As a result, the roads become crowded because people are going somewhere at the same time. Fortunately, there are two solutions that the government could apply in order to solve the traffic jam problem. First, the government should invest more in public transportation, especially buses. This solution could reduce the number of cars on the roads. Second, the government should manage the different working hours for students and workers, so it can reduce the number of people who commute in rush hours. For example, Jakarta's government already invested in public transportation such as buses and commuter lines, and managed the working hours for its civil servants starting at 9, while students start at 7 in order to congest traffic jams. In conclusion, I personally disagree in order to solve traffic jams the government should construct wider roads. Instead of doing that, the government should invest in public transportation and arrange new working hours for its inhabitants.