in some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. what are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

Childhood has long been considered a crucial time for inculcating some fundamental beliefs in children. It is customary in some nations that adults try to convince children any goals they set will not be attainable unless they work hard. This belief brings some positive effects. whilst, it can indeed lead to some grave consequences. Initially, having a determined mindset is a primary requirement to become successful..it is believed that having been constantly told that success is the fruit of labour, a child begins to internalize this attitude which, consequently, results in acquiring some positive personality traits such as perseverance, determination, and persistence. These qualities, which directly contribute to success, make them try their best to fulfil any assigned tasks. Moreover, when youngsters, from an early age, are educated to be focused on their goals and pursue their dreams, they are more likely to thrive in any field they desire, which finally brings about a bright future for them. However, it is apparent that there are certain drawbacks to instilling such ideas into children. In general, parents with such mindsets, unintentionally tend to impose considerable pressure on youngers. Therefore, in order to live up to their parent's expectations, children would suffer from anxiety, stress and anger. In addition, as children are highly impressionable, having this belief can lead to an illusion which makes them suppose they are fully capable of achieving what they dream of. So, when they are in critical circumstances or experience failure, they are very prone to mental health problems and in some cases severe depression or even suicide. To sum up, while emphasizing the importance of hard work may benefit children by building up some positive qualities and bringing success, there are a number of significant disadvantages which could be prevented by parents’ close attention to children's mental health state.