Here and more people are relying on the private car at their major means of transportation. Describe some of the problems over-reliance on cars can cause , and suggest at least one possible solution.

Today, the frequent use of private cars has become a major concern for many countries. Some think people are heavily dependent on them despite the potential harm they could be doing to the economy or to the environment. This essay will explain some of the issues vehicles could cause if every person starts using their private cars every day and possible alternative solutions to minimize these causes. Firstly, many vehicles on the road could lead to heavy traffic and environmental pollution. Due to that heavy traffic has become one of the major pullbacks for any economy because it slows down the whole economical cycle due to slowness of the transportation. For example, a recent survey done at Melbourne University shows that an average person in Australia spends almost 4 hours on the road which could be a waste of time. Another problem is that if there are a lot of vehicles on the road, directly indicates that this will result in noise and air pollution. As a result, it could have a devastating impact on our environment. For instance, the air of some major cities is in the red zone which means it could bring potential harm to people`s health. Secondly, using public transportation could be one of the ways we could easily avoid this problem. Since most public modes can accommodate many passengers, it could avoid bringing private vehicles. In Sri Lanka, a single train could accommodate up to 500 passengers and trains are available at twenty-four seven thus could help to reduce traffic congestion significantly. In addition, it could bring down the air and noise pollution as well. In conclusion, using private vehicles could bring many issues not only to our environment but our economy as well. In my opinion, governments should impose strict rules and encourage people to use public transport modes as their main transportation mode.