Some people say that instead of seeing the internet as a way of opening up new possibilities worldwide, we should be concerned about the effect this is having on social interaction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

Several people claim that we should be concerned about the impacts the internet has on us instead of always perceiving it as a key that positively opens up new possibilities over the world. I agree with this point. While the internet is reasonably advantageous for the younger generations, it can negatively affect us. Firstly, users should be aware that the online environment also poses threats. Many young teenagers, even children are actively sharing their data on social media, unaware of the risks they are stepping into. Many online attacks, scams and other actions are directed at those groups of people. Secondly, they will unconsciously leak data to profiting businesses. A lot of information is vulnerable, such as house address, and identity, these are dangerous to be revealed to the public. Consequently, social media will leave many insecurities in their later life and will face a hard time interacting with others. It is not only dangerous, but the internet may also shape your personality, and opinions in a negative way. As the users keep on using the internet, they will lose their own voice. Their views will be based completely on what others deem them to be. Additionally, there is also a high chance that they will be influenced by degrading internet culture. For example, explicit, hateful content. As a result, some parts of the internet would be a very harmful place to thrive, or to learn from, which will change your behaviour or social interactions. In conclusion, while the internet can be good, it also can harm your social perspective.