Overpopulation of urban area has lead to numerous problems. Identify one or two serious ones and suggest ways that the governments and individuals can tackle these problems.

Densely populated cities have caused multiple issues. This essay will firstly argue that the principal catastrophes this is causing are deforestation and the increased spreading of disease. Only through green space conservation and public health education campaigns can these problems be solved. Currently, the most alarming troubles urbanisation is causing are those of loss of greenery and amplification of communicable diseases. If we continue to build towers everywhere, we will lose our trees. Moreover, overcrowded housing, in particular, is leading to a dramatic rise in infectious diseases. For example, scabies cases are 95% higher in urban areas, where people live in close proximity, than in rural villages. Furthermore, viable solutions to these problems are to stop the destruction of trees and to teach people about diseases. The government should protect all remaining green belts as well as plant more trees to combat the loss of flora and fauna. Similarly, it should also run education programs for the public to help them learn about the disease risks that close proximity brings as well as start widespread immunisation campaigns. For instance, the United Kingdom has a large urban population but because it has a robust health care system that caters to the public it has eliminated diseases such as TB via education and immunisation. In conclusion, the loss of our planet's ecosystem and the spread of dangerous illnesses are the main difficulties a metropolitan city brings. However, solutions such as government shielding plant life and providing guidance to individuals along with vaccines will prevent this.