Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Many children spend time with the advancement of technology these days, and the tendency to use mobile phones. There are some possible reasons behind this phenomenon. In this essay, I will outline several reasons to prove this The first reason is that smartphones today have more entertaining functions for children to discover. For example, it can allow children to do a variety of activities such as playing online games, watching movies, chatting with friends as well as taking e-learning. Children might find these applications and programs eye-catching and addictive, and thus they easily glue their eyes to these devices all the time. Another reason for this trend is that children who lack parental attention play more on their smartphones. Many busy parents find it hard to spend time playing and talking with their kids because of hectic working schedules and deadlines in their fobs. Therefore, they usually come to the solution of giving cell phones to their children instead. As a result, these programs and applications like YouTube, TikTok and so on and so forth could become their babysitters. On the other hand, the development described above might cause some negative effects on performance and physical development detrimental impact. One piece of evidence is that children ’s addiction to smartphones could reduce their study results. For instance, their homework is usually put off for hours by playing games or the reading time is about to be replaced by scrolling on the screens of cellphones and technical devices can have a harmful impact on their eyes. In addition, this also contributes to the rise of obesity rates in young children today due to their sedentary lifestyles and lack of exercise among them. In summary, the various functions of smartphones and lack of parental attention, are considered two primary factors in this phenomenon and I strongly feel that this could be a harmful tendency to children ’s development.