In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

People in some countries believe that owning a house is better than renting one. This is because they do not have to pay rent. In my opinion, it is a positive situation and my reasons will be highlighted in the essay. Firstly, owning a home is a source of extra income. Personal houses can be rented out to people or organizations. For example, In countries such as New Zealand where tourism is high and tourists stay for a long period of time. Home owners lease out their properties or part of them to travellers. This helps them generate extra income while in the comfort of their homes. Secondly, due to the current state of the world's economy. Many countries have faced economic recession and there has been a drastic increase in housing costs. However, individuals who own their own properties are spared from this as they do not pay rent. For example, in Nigeria due to recessions,most families who rented apartments were forced to change their apartments because they could no longer afford the charges of those buildings. Although owning a home has its numerous benefits, it can also come with challenges, one of which is property maintenance. Most landlords find it difficult to maintain their property, this leads to degradation and then they might end up selling the building for half the market value. However, renters do not face this situation as landlords are saddled with the responsibility of property maintenance. In conclusion, the benefits of owning a home greatly exceed renting one. So individuals should make conscious financial decisions that will enable them to acquire a house.