“In many countries, paying for things using mobile phone (cellphone) apps is becoming increasingly common.” Does this development have more advantages or more disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

With the rise in technology, many people have started to use digital payments instead of paying by cash, this has revolutionized the world as we see it, it is a much quicker and more convenient way of transaction of money. This essay will talk about how the development of digital payments has more advantages than disadvantages. Firstly, digital payments have reduced the need of keeping physical currency on you, while also not needing to have the exact change on you. With everything going digital, it has become hard for people to get their money stolen and their wallets pickpocketed. Digital payments are also used to send people large amounts of money across the world, saving both time and energy. For instance, my father sent me a large amount of money online for my college rather than giving it to me physically because it was less time-consuming and less risky. Secondly, online payments are a great way to track your expenses as everything online has a record. For example, I have always used Paytm which is an online money transaction application in India to keep track of my expenses. Furthermore, digital payments also help in the development of a country since every transaction has a record, which makes it harder for people to evade taxes. To conclude, I think that digital payments have revolutionised the world and will continue to do so and while every advantage has its own disadvantage, I believe that, the advantages of digital payment outweigh the disadvantages.