Task 2: Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with?

Some people argue that advertisements prompt customers to pay for unnecessary items, while others believe that commercials introduce newly-launched products that can enhance their living standards. While I agree with the former opinion to a certain extent, I am more convinced with the latter one. On the one hand, there are several reasons why people may buy unnecessary products with the powerful influence of advertising. To begin with, commercials are becoming ubiquitous in human daily life, appearing from social media to TV programmes to outdoor channels. Therefore, with high frequencies of approaching consumers, advertisements may partly impact users’ decisions, and sometimes, encourage them to buy more than their demand. For instance, the young generation may be attracted by adverts on Facebook or Tiktok, so they purchase a number of clothing items, several of which are just used at one time. On another hand, I am of the opinion that advertising works as an effective way of presenting new lines to customers, which facilitates the shopping experience. In detail, combined with informative tools, advertising allows businesses to reach potential customers and helps them save time on collecting a huge amount of data. For example, parents who are bringing up their children can easily update information about new types of diapers or milk for their kids by watching TV commercials instead of spending hours researching. To summarize, although people may buy unessential items by watching advertisements, I strongly agree that adverts are useful ways of introducing new products and making life easier.