Some people think that studying from the past teaches nothing about today’s life. Others argue that the history is a value source of information. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It cannot be denied that history has always had a profound impact on today’s revolutionized era. Some people claim that through learning past events, we cannot get essential knowledge which is needed these days, others, however, hold the view that it is imperative that we should be exposed to studying the past so that we will be able to obtain crucial information. This essay will look at both viewpoints before drawing a conclusion. On the one hand, Some argue that studying history may be of less importance, as there tends to appear a plethora of pressing matters such as global warming, air pollution and you name it. As it is known, unless scientists and political leaders take steps to deal with these urgent issues, the consequences they bring are likely to be drastic. Therefore, If they are obsessed with investigating ancient times rather than paying attention to current problems as mentioned above, the population of the world will perhaps suffer from various ailments caused by polluted air or ozone layer depletion which is strongly linked to global warming in the long run. Thus,learning about former times, as some claim, is quite unnecessary when there are more pressing matters which require a lot of focus. However, on the other hand, there are those who argue that history plays an integral role in modern society since it provides important insights into understanding the present. To be more specific, studying the past allows us to learn from past mistakes, to understand the roots of current societal issues as well as global ones. Take climate change as a prime example, scientists have been making efforts to tackle this problem for many years, and they have not yet succeeded in its solutions. That’s why, there seems to appear a question: how is this possible to find a remedy for this without studying historical causes which have been affecting it for a long time? In summary, while some say that studying history is irrelevant to today’s life because there are plenty of important challenges to sort out, I believe history is needed due to its significance which gives vital lessons and insights that are useful when dealing with contemporary issues.