Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requriement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste.

Nowadays, some people argue that not enough of the trash is recycled. They consider that the government has to make regulations to increase recycling in society. There are advantages to the existence of the regulations that should implement by people and this essay will discuss them based on my point of view that can be given below. First of all, many wastes are separated all over the place by people who do not care how important the environment should be preserved. One of the first reasons why the regulations are necessary is to make various kinds of penalties for someone who does not prepare the garbage for recycling. For example, in my country, Indonesia, if the dry and wet waste are not separated, they will be penalized 10.000 rupiahs, so that the government can optimize the status of recycling. On the other hand, there are also encouraging obligations, which can be utilized to improve recycling. another benefit would be giving a reward to people who obey such rules. This would mean that people would realize that the obligations given by the government have a crucial effect on environmental conditions. For instance, in my country's neighbour, Singapore, the rules are set up to improve citizens' conscience on recycling. Therefore, the citizens who encourage the rules are able to get a reward such as a free ticket for using public transportation. To sum up, providing regulations on recycling indeed gives a lot of benefits to the environment. In addition, rewarding and punishment methods are necessary for society to maintain a good quality environment.