Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There has been a belief in many people that adverts are doing great at making people buy things. While for others, this type of marketing has become too common that viewers are losing interest. I will discuss both of these opinions and eventually, I will give my own viewpoint. On one hand, advertisements are successfully gaining people's attention and influencing them to buy the company’s products. This incredibly powerful effect is a result of the cooperation of commercial and psychological experts. The colour, the length, and even the background music in the advert have been taken into consideration to target the viewer, rouse their curiosity and entice them. Like, for example, in kid commercials they use cute images with a variety of bright colours with catchy and upbeat music that appeals to children. On the other hand, the lack of innovative ideas has made advertising a boring mass that sometimes brings annoyance to people. And with social media, which the intention is to create public relationships that help producers reach buyers, the number of times users see it is inversely proportional to their interests in the due to how it sometimes breaks in the mood or causes disturbance. For instance, when you are watching a movie and it is at the most thrilling part, right before the villain reveal their identity an ad shows up talking about a stomach drug, it just ruins the best part for you. So to summarise it, though advertisements have truly succeeded in attracting customers, it still raises some problems, the obvious one I think is the excessive amount of ads, which is why I support the latter opinion.