In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. why might this be the case? do you think this is a positive or negative situation.

Many adults all over the world strive for owning a property instead of renting. This might be due to social, or financial motives. Personally, I consider this a very positive step with many advantages as will be illustrated in the following paragraphs. People’s motivations to purchase houses can be enforced by their social image. For instance, in the Western culture, having a house is considered a sign of maturity and responsibility, especially when planning to establish a family. Middle- Eastern Societies also condition men to have their own private places in order to get married. However, apart from cultural beliefs, possessing an asset is meant to be a great investment for the future. Additionally, it gives a feeling of stability and security. Residents look at the owned dwelling as a long-term investment that can be sold in the future for a higher price, or rented out. In my opinion, I reckon purchasing a house is one of the greatest and most feasible goals in life. Particularly now, with the availability of various financial programs provided by the banks and the governments. For example, the Australian government allows young employees to access their superannuation kept for retirement, and to use it as a deposit to buy a home. Undoubtedly, the economic value of an asset increases over time, compared to saved money. Moreover, spending part of the income on paying off the instalments (mortgages) is considered an investment for a long-term project, while spending the same amount on a temporary accommodation is just a waste of money, in my point of view. In Conclusion, the desire for buying a house can be driven by different reasons, either cultural, or financial. However, as far as I am concerned, preserving money in the form of Real Estate, has been always a winning card.