Some universities offer online courses as an alternative to classes delivered on campus. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

It is true that in this technological era, traditional courses provided by higher educational institutes have been replaced by electronic learning courses. While this trend of teaching raises some issues, I feel that these online courses have great benefits for learners as well as tutors. On the one hand, the introduction of technology in the education sector brings some concerns. Firstly, e-learning can be a hindrance in the development of learners’ soft skills like teamwork, collaboration etc., which always play a crucial role in the overall development of an individual and due to lack of interaction with instructor and classmates, students are unable to develop such abilities. Secondly, it affects the academic performance of pupils as they tend to procrastinate because there is no monitoring authority on them which also sometimes results in poor allocation of time to complete assignments. Finally, plagiarism and dishonesty are also areas of concern in which students get themselves involved while studying online owing to which they try to implement some unauthorized use of technology like indulging in transgression that may drive them to the verge of being expelled from the course of study. On the other hand, this change is advantageous in many aspects. The first and foremost factor is accessibility which scholars have achieved with the advent of computer-based courses since distance barriers can be erased by the adoption of video-conferencing technology as it saves precious travelling time and students in destitute regions are now more likely to approach higher academic subjects as compared to the past. Moreover, flexibility and convenience are the other benefits that a person can get with the help of virtual classes as any learner can study without time restriction and scholars can avail high quality education by prominent professors from renowned universities via e-learning. Last but not least, online distance education enables the students to review lectures and discussions and provides them with the opportunity to repeat any lecture if they are not able to understand the concepts, thus giving them the laxity to study without any extra charges from the tutor. In conclusion, no doubt this change is criticized due to having some adverse effects on scholars, I believe that its above-mentioned benefits cannot be neglected.