In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the adavantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

Taking a gap year for job or travel is encouraged in some nations before pursuing the further education. This essay will discuss two major benefits: could enhance their work skills and choose the right career. However, this scenerio has some drawbacks: discontinution of the study and can astray from the right path. To begin with the advantages, there are main two pros of this trend. Firstly, young people would get a chance to hone their skills if they would spend a year in travelling or working. For example, while working in a company, the employee would learn the basic skills such as communication skills, puntuality and so on. In this way, it is the golden opportunity for youngster to work or travel which will result in more skillful person. Secondly, during employment, individuals would have a chance to analyse their calibers and help them to make a choice for further career which they want to pursue. Hence, it is clear that the students who prefer to take a year off and utilize it in a job or to migrate, they would be more skillful and would choose the right profession for them in future. However, this trend has some disadvantages. One of the major cons is that it will directly leads to discontinution of studies since young people would gain interest in making money or wandering. Due to this habit, they might loss interest in further education which would have direct negative effect on their future promotions. As an illustartion, China Country has less graduates as compared to other countries because Chinese students prefer to work after completing their secondary study. Therefore, they got busy in their work and do not want to continue the tertiary education. Moreover, another disadvantage is that the students may indulge in illegal activities while working or travelling since they are immature for work and cannot understand the difference between right or wrong. Therefore, this phenomenon may lead to discontinution of education and young individuals may distract from their ways. In conclusion, although having a year off would assists the students in practice their skills and could select the desired profession; however it is difficult for students to continue their education again and could adopt some negative attitudes due to peer pressure which could have negative consequences on their furture.