Many people think that it is better to get advice from old rather than young people. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It has been said that suggestions from the elderly are more applicable than the young. There is some uncertainty as to the merits and demerits of the viewpoint. This essay discusses both sides of this argument and why I somewhat agree that older generations’ opinions are more valuable. To begin with, catching up with the current trend at which youngsters are adept can involve one to adopt the latest ideas to overcome a problem, such as how to use a newly released smartphone. In addition, compared with senior citizens, who are always realistic and alarmed, youths always have an optimistic and straightforward personality. Moreover, the young individuals, who just step into adulthood, are full of courage. When one is confronted with challenging difficulties, this spirit is needed. On the other hand, older generations are the experts in various fields, including life skills and academic fields, since they have already accumulated experience for a long time. For instance, both travelling to distant destinations and reading a complex range of books has transformed view and words into knowledge. Also, when listening to one’s problem, old people have more empathetic emotions, which can be connected with the tellers’. Furthermore, old generations hold a mature and calm mindset that can calm the struggler down. In conclusion, I am more inclined to agree that more advice should be asked for from the elderly, for they have undergone multiple challenges and obtained experience, becoming more mature and empathetic than young people in most cases, although the younger individuals can give more modern advice, encouraging the tellers to face the issues more bravely.