Some people say it is more important to plant trees in the open spaces in towns and cities than to build more housing. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

This is currently a contentious argument over whether to plant trees in rural areas or construct new houses and apartments. I totally agree with this opinion due to a vast range of reasons and some of them will be addressed in this essay. The main reason why I do believe we should put a premium on expanding tree-covered areas in cities is that they can improve the air quality. This is a fact that plants are capable of clarifying the atmosphere by capturing some toxic gases and turning them into Oxygen. Furthermore, they are literally effective in improving the view of the residential areas. In other words, colourful plants and trees have an influential impact on beautifying the towns. For example, in Iran, a survey which has been taken by the government after expanding the tree-covered area by 30 per cent in the capital city indicates that people believe that spectacular sceneries has been extremely increased and also electronic indicators show a marked decrease in toxic gases in the atmosphere. On the other hand, the most significant cause why I dispute building new housing is based on the fact that by the growing quantity of residences, traffic congestion will be expanded. The growing number of residents in an area is one of the contributing factors in raising traffic congestion. In addition, air pollution can be counted as one of the most obvious results of building new housing. The increasing rate of rural population leads to using fuels more and more, therefore, air pollution will be inevitable. For instance, in the capital city of Italy, raising the number of houses by 20 per cent in five years has resulted in growing traffic congestion and air pollution by 40 and 50 per cent respectively. In conclusion, althghou it is a common belief that constructing new houses is considerably more important than planting trees, I completely disagree with this Idea because plants can clear the atmosphere and improve the view of cities, whereas, more buildings lead to more traffic jams and air pollution.