in some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studied.advantages disadvantages

These days, due to advancement of technologies, machinery and awareness it has become really difficult for a senior secondary student to decide the career in various fields. In some countries, teenagers are motivated to work or travel before starting university studies. In this essay both benefits and drawbacks will be discussed before my opinion is reached. For the advantages, the first benefit of working before the starting of undergraduate courses is to develop interest in any particular course or stream, as it allows the young people to explore new skills and techniques. For example, I can work as a foreman and gain knowledge about the basic of Civil Engineering before commencing my coursework. Moreover, it will also help them in their resume where they can show this as an internship or job experience. Even though the students will gain a clear vision for their future but it also has some drawbacks. To begin, it can put them behind their classmates in the freshmen year of university. To illustrate, when I will join the college as a rookie my friends have already completed their first year. Furthermore, if someone travels for a year then it will show as a gap year on their resume. Therefore, it can lead to further questions. In conclusion, this essay presented both pros and cons of the young people working or travelling before ending college, I think that its benefit including, a clear vision of the future and more opportunities in job outweighs its demerits