In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centers or malls to do their shipping. Is this a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays, there is a new trend in consumer behaviour that they choose to go shopping in big plazas and shopping centres than the small local shops. Due to this, more of the traditional shops are closing down. In this essay, I will share some merits and demerits of this issue before drawing a conclusion. On the one hand, nearby shops are part of the local communities which are the most important aspects of the community’s tradition and culture, so the closing eventually makes a distance between them. Moreover, this will cause a bad impact on middle-class families’ financial status and this leads to starvation in their families. For example, reports show that some retainers in urban areas of India closed their shop and did other work for their basic needs. On the other hand, purchasing from big shopping centres and malls enables users to have more choices, and also they offer competitive prices and bargains, so purchasing would be more affordable for the mass of people. In addition, humans especially the young, would be exposed to countless job opportunities, such as store manager, accountant, truck driver, and seller. Furthermore, there are various stores selling their product in the plaza. That is to say, the public can purchase everything from their shopping list by going to the same place. For an instance, the mall is consisting of many international and domestic brands, and those brands have a stronger connection with our daily life. the plaza is selling goods for daily consumption, fresh products as well as entertainment products. In conclusion, the advantages of shopping centres and malls outweigh the merits of local retailers, Also they brought well convenience for people in modern society.