Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The impact of advertisements can be a very controversial topic nowadays. While some people may think that commercials have become more influential, others may believe that they have turned us to be more cautious. Personally, I agree with both notions to some extent as will be illustrated in the following paragraphs. On the one hand, it is undeniable that, promotions on social media have a profound effect on the public’s preferences and consumption habits. In my opinion, Instagram and Facebook short videos or photos, for instance, are extremely successful tools in directing consumers’ demands unconsciously, especially, when it comes to fashion and beauty. Having people posting their costumes, beauty services, and products, and being watched by millions all over the world, encourages many crowds to follow the same path and seek what others have, regardless of being a genuine addition to their life. Moreover, some specialists and doctors promote their services online, such as the “before and after “photos of plastic surgeries, which makes them more appealing and demanded by some people. On the other hand, being faced with a high load of commercials everywhere can create some kind of resistance, which I also agree with. This can be observed with particular goods. For example, supermarkets and restaurants distribute brochures with similar offers and almost an equal net value. Subsequently, the place is chosen based on other reasons apart from what is actually being offered, such as, being nearby, since competition has created a narrow margin of uniqueness. Additionally, individuals have developed awareness to evaluate the commodities without rushing to buy them, and the possibility of finding reviews or providing reviews about everything, has enforced this approach. In conclusion, advertisements have a dual effect, which varies according to the age group and the needs being targeted. I believe that they still play a crucial role that impacts and directs us; however, not in all fields.