Nowadays, an increasing number of people with health problems are using alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their normal doctor. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

It is true that recently an increasing number of people resort to alternative therapy or medication in lieu of receiving treatment from the ordinary medical system. From my perspective, it can be a positive development in certain aspects, whereas few drawbacks can be anticipated with the inappropriate treatment. I believe the utilization of alternative treatment can avert some detrimental effects which arise from modern medication. With the advent of technology, a number of diseases and lethal infections can now be well contained; however, situations like super germs, for example, can be attributed to the abuse of antibiotics. The proper usage of other medical methods can avoid such problems. In certain cases, special treatment has been proved to be useful in relieving symptoms of certain ailments and can even eradicate the problem. Chinese medicine, for example, treats diseases in a different way. Most therapies include the use of acupuncture and herb-based medicine, which have milder side effects in comparison to taking chemical medication; meanwhile receiving equal effects. However, on the other hand, over-obsession with such treatment can lead to serious consequences. For instance, some diseases can be treated in a more efficient way through the right inscription,yet if one follows the wrong guidance or accesses unreliable information, the situation can be further exacerbated or even lead to an irreversible consequence. Thus, it is crucial and necessary to receive the appropriate treatment with a legitimate and approved method. In conclusion, I believe it is a positive development that the utilization of alternative therapy can be beneficial in certain aspects, however, with the inapplicable usage and incorrect concept, the outcome can be serious.