Some children spend hours everyday on their smartphones. Why is this case? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

It is said that nowadays children spent most of their time using smartphones. Few teenagers waste their precious time on gadgets. In this, essay I will discuss the drawbacks of this behaviour in children. I believe this is a negative development and it affects the students badly. First of all, gadgets have become so lucrative that anyone can spend most of their time around them. I think it is mainly due to advancements in technology that they do all their activities on the phone. To elaborate, youngsters use devices for entertainment,education,interaction with friends and family and many other purposes. To initial, excessive usage of mobile for the wrong purpose is a negative development among youngsters. To begin with, they can easily be distracted from their studies as well as from some important work. For instance, while studying if they get a notification from their friends they tend to respond as soon as possible, which in turn distracts them from focusing on one particular thing.As a, a result they will not be able to succeed in one particular domain whether it is studying or playing. Secondly, it generally affects their mental as well as physical health. For example, a recent survey by Harvard university shows an increase in the usage of devices leads to weakening eyesight along with symptoms of obesity,as one is not moving when using the phone. Hence, results in more negative consequences. In conclusion,I think there are more downfalls of using smartphones rather than advantages and children should use their precious moments very wisely when using any gadget.