Many childhood diseases can now be prevented through the use of vaccines. Should parents be made by law to immunize their children against common diseases or should individuals have the right to choose not to immunize their children?

As we live in an era where technology is dominating, medicine is one of the fields where we use high technology as much as possible. That is why, we are now equipped with the vaccines, that we need to cure almost every disease that we see among children. However, there are constant arguments in society, about whether there should be a law to be imposed on parents to vaccinate their children or whether it is up to the individuals to choose whether to vaccinate or not. According to what I have experienced, the argument of choosing to get injected or not will exist if the individuals get educated about the value of getting immune against the diseases. Moreover, this essay strongly agrees with the fact of imposing rules on parents to vaccine their youngsters against certain illnesses. To begin with, starting from the very beginning of mankind, we humans suffered from various kinds of health issues due to various reasons. For example, the most recent pandemic, that we experienced is all about a virus that affects our respiratory system. Thanks to the newer technology, scientists came up with a vaccine that can be used against this virus. And now we are seeing its results all over the world. Likewise, thanks to the Polio injection that we give to newborns, now Sri Lanka is a country that does not suffers more because of Polio. So, I believe there should be a law to describe the value of getting juveniles treated for illnesses. On the other hand, governments should carry out awareness programmes to educate their citizens about these treatments. If the awareness programmes start in the schools, the whole society will pay attention to the need for getting protection against sicknesses. Thus, there will be no need for arguments to get immune or not. To sum up my writing, I believe everyone should have an equal opportunity to receive scientifically proven medicine to protect themselves as well as the community they live in.