In some countries, more and more people are becoming in interested in finding out about the history of the house or building they live in. What are the reasons for this? How can poeple research this?

There is an increasing trend among the population in several countries to look for their building's history. The essay will explain why and how the public investigates their own houses. Regarding the reasons why society wants to know more about the past of their places, there are several possible reasons such as curiosity and finance. First, some people may only be curious about whether there are any interesting stories behind their building, especially for an old and mysterious building. This behaviour has also happened many times at the beginning of the movies too, where the lead characters start their adventure when discovering a hidden attic or storage in their dwelling. Second, financial can become a factor because by knowing the current building more, people can plan more efficient on how to improve their accommodation. For example, by knowing the strength of the building's foundation, the family can decide whether it is safe to build another floor or not. In terms of the ways men and women research the building where they live, there are two possible options. Starting it by observing is one of the fastest and easiest ways that the residents can do since there is no preparation is needed. However, there is a drawback since this way is limited to the observer's knowledge, so the information that can be gained is also limited. Next, people can gain information from other families like neighbours. In smaller areas where each family live close to each other, they may know more about the situations in each home too. For instance, many neighbours know if there was any suicide that happened in the building or why the previous owner sold it (as the previous owner may talk previously like moving out or bankrupt). To conclude, knowing the background of the building has been more popular for curiosity or financial reasons and it can be known by observing or asking other neighbours.