Some people think that the teenage years are the happiest times of most people's lives. Others think that adult life brings more happiness, in spite of greater responsibilities. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Are the teen years truly the most joyful time of our lives? Many believe this statement to be accurate. Whereas others concur with this opinion and insist adulthood is when true happiness is experienced. This essay will discuss both views and conclude why I feel adulthood, with its unwavering freedom, is a far happier phase of life. To start, the belief that the peak of existence lies in our teenage years is an opinion shared by many. seldom has anyone been unhappy with no responsibility. The carefree, selfish and unhindered lives youngsters are able to lead are directly related to the fact that, unlike adults, all accountability they may face falls upon their parents instead. Absolving them of any real consequences for their actions. I, however, believe this to be only true for a select few individuals. whilst many children don't share this privilege. In contrast, they have an incredible sum of responsibilities and afflictions, preventing them from experiencing true joy. For example, many teenagers of the modern age are plagued by negative experiences like bullying, mental health issues, physical health battles and being the sole caregivers to a family member. A recent study carried out by The Times newspaper, on 50 high school students, found that 64% of youngsters experienced anxiety at school for a myriad of reasons. On the other hand, some insist happiness is found in adulthood. That is to say, despite adults facing greater responsibility, with that, comes innate freedom not offered to growing children. If a human is given the opportunity to live completely independently, they will surely feel more fulfilled. I agree with this sentiment because,with independence, individuals have free rein to explore their authentic selves, discover passions, cultivate rewarding careers and develop relationships, which previously may not have been possible. For instance, in a survey on 250 adults living in New York City, 84% of them revealed they enjoy adulthood more and would not wish to return to their teenage years. In conclusion, although some may argue that the carefree aspect of the teenage era brings far greater levels of joy, an adult has the opportunity to live unencumbered. In whatever way they wish. Only with this level of independence, can a person be honestly happy.