Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Others believe that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both these views and give your own

Over the years, advertisement has been a major means through which products are marketed. Some people believe that because of how rampant it is, it has lost its powers er of persuasion while others do not agree. To begin with, people who believe in the effectiveness of advertisement would argue that it has evolved. For instance, in earlier times adverts were done by regular people. Now, the use of influencers and celebrities has introduced a whole new era in the marketing industry. This is because Individuals are more willing to use products that have been endorsed by famous people. Also, companies use jingles as a form of marketing and some even go as far as distributing mini products for consumers to sample. They have also found a way to infuse mini adverts into social media applications thereby attracting more customers. However, people who argue that it has lost its touch are of the belief that companies are no longer creative. They no longer put effort into creating these adverts. They are more interested in the amounts they make and whom they use in promoting it. For example, consumers of the telecommunications service AIRTEL have complained of the constant issues in their network. However, the company keeps creating new commercials while neglecting the major complaints. This has led to a major decrease in their patronage as customers are no longer moved by their adverts. In conclusion, advertisement is a major source of marketing and its importance can not be overemphasized. Even though the quality of commercials has dropped it has not lost its influence in my opinion. Companies should however look into improving the quality rather than the quantity they make.