Smoking is a major cause of serious illness and death throughout the world today. In the interest of public health, governments should ban cigarettes and other tobacco products. Do you agree or disagree?

Smoking is widely regarded as harmful, as it contributes to serious illness and death throughout the world. Some people contend that governments should ban cigarettes and other tobacco products. I firmly agree with the following suggestion, as prohibiting the use of these products fosters a healthier society. Undeniably, the smoke a person inhales severely damages their internal organs. Although the negative effects are not massive during the initial stages, in the long run, smoking leads to fatal consequences. Furthermore, smoke from a cigarette is accompanied by nicotine, a drug used to overstimulate the neurons, leading to the formation of addiction. It has been stated through various medical studies that a person addicted to smoking is likely to develop lung cancer and other respiratory diseases. In India, most underprivileged individuals living in slums and on footpaths smoke every day, and this routine has led to their poor health, ultimately leading to death. Moreover, smoking in public places and homes is also harmful to nearby people, and this is called passive smoking. To illustrate this point further, in the United States, most parents are indulging in smoking activities and exhaling that smoke into the air. This air with smoke particles is unintentionally consumed by children in the house and leads to their poor health and development. In addition to passive smoking, children are observers and mimic their elders, therefore, youngsters find smoking stylish and upbeat. In conclusion, I firmly agree that governments should prohibit the use of cigarettes and tobacco products for the well-being of both adults and youngsters. Ultimately, this would contribute to a better future for the nation, as younger generations would not crave addiction and its fatal consequences.