In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of diverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages.

The trials that have been carried out recently on driverless vehicles, may have aroused various opinions around it. As far as I am concerned, the merits of having such kind of transportation overcome the demerits, as will be illustrated in the following paragraphs. To begin with, having no driver is a great step to elevate the safety margin for several reasons. Firstly, it eliminates human error which is the main reason for car crashes according to statistics. Secondly, the newly manufactured cars under testing, use age-cutting technology. That means more advanced and protective measures will be included, for instance, airbags and sensors. Thirdly, no chance for crimes committed by private drivers such as Uber or Taxi drivers. Hence, families may feel comfortable to send their youngsters to their schools or activities anytime on their own. Furthermore, it is a time-saving tool! Undoubtedly, sitting in the passenger seat while a robot is doing the job, will allow us to do things that we struggle to do during the day. For example, making important phone calls, reading, watching videos, or even just relaxing. On top of that, we can travel overnight and sleep safely without stressing about the road. Moreover, relying on e-maps and the ability of the car’s system to follow the right route, will lower the probability of getting lost and taking longer time to reach the destination. In conclusion, I believe that introducing these vehicles to the market, has magnificent advantages, as long as other factors, such as, safety measures, are taken into consideration.