In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

The corporates always claim their goods in advertisements can catch up with the trend currently. There is some uncertainty as to the merits and demerits of this viewpoint. This essay discusses its possible causes and why I believe that the development is not beneficial as these businesses think. To begin with, some products, such as electronic devices, are bonded to the development of high technology, which evolves at a fast speed. In addition, a fancy seasonal design should be broadcast on television or the Internet, so that audiences will be attracted to purchase, especially in a limited version, for example. Moreover, when customers get a clue from the commercial that a brand-new generation is promoted, their desire to possess a new one is stimulated, appealing to basic human psychology. On the other hand, if the producers emphasize their commodities lead a trend, it will cause extra expenditures, forcing the targeted audiences to buy something that they may have already owned. For instance, Apple fans rushed to get an iPhone 13 after the launch, while they still have a functional iPhone 12, which may result in a stockpile. Also, the elements ranging from metal to chemicals combined in goods can be overconsumed. Furthermore, some updates are only marketing strategies, deceiving customers into taking out purses, while the functions of the products remain the same. In conclusion, technology, eye-catching designs, and promoting intention are the main reasons for the phenomenon, while I would argue that it causes some drawbacks that consumers’ benefits may be offended and the resources are wasted.