Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

From the perspective of new immigrants, speaking a second language abroad might cause misunderstanding or misinterpretation on certain occasions in everyday life. The issues could relate but are not confined to your job performance or just ordering meals in a restaurant. It’s common that the language barrier could be one of the significant issues that foreigners may encounter. If fresh comers occasionally cannot understand the context or the implication in the dialogues with their colleagues or employers, it might lead to the consequence of downgrading the year-round review when it comes to the annual bonus split. Being unable to fully express your thought in a language may also prohibit immigrants from making local friends, as a result, it limits the social connection in the targeted country. Even car repair, hotel reservation, or online consult could go wrong, generating problems you wish to avoid. In most cases, people spend a considerable amount of money and time achieving their goals to immigrate to a new country. Considering the effort you have already put into the path of immigration, the hard work of learning a second language well seems doesn’t weigh that much. Learning the target language at specific levels will be beneficial to the lives of the dream country. Therefore, learning a second language well definitely brings the immigrants confidence and opportunities to understand the local custom and culture. The better the foreigners can speak the second language, the better they fit in with their new lifestyles.