Online education is becoming increasingly popular. Many university students are choosing to study online instead of face to face. Do the advantages of distance education outwiegh the disadvantages?

Recently, education has shifted forms from an offline setting to an online setting. A large number of students enrolled in universities prefer to study online rather than face-to-face. In my opinion, the advantages of distance education do not outweigh its disadvantages. This is because of the many advantages online education offers. Firstly, students can save a lot of time and energy for getting ready, as well as money on transportation. They might need to pay for gasoline if they drive a car or motorcycle, or buy a ticket for the bus or train. Secondly, they are able to attend classes anywhere, such as at home or cafe. Additionally, lecturers may opt for online-based assignments, thus students may hand over their tasks through an online platform rather than in-person. However, there can be disadvantages too. Firstly, since professors are not in the same room as their pupils, thus they cannot supervise the students, leading to students having the freedom to multitask and being unable to focus properly. Secondly, looking at a computer screen for a long period of time may cause health issues, such as dry eye or neck and spine pain. Thirdly, anyone may experience technical difficulties, which may hinder the teaching session. This is caused by the unfamiliarity with the technological advancements, whether it be the software updates or they are not equipped with functional computers to facilitate their studies. Furthermore, peers are not able to see one another, which may be difficult for some people to adapt to when they need support. In conclusion, despite online education being much more effective and flexible compared to offline education, offline education outweighs online education. This is due to the accountability teachers face, reduce health effects caused by the computer screen, and the reduction of technical issues.