Your professor has assigned the class a final project. However, each student is free to choose who they will work with. If you had to work on this kind of project, would you rather: Work alone Work with classmates Work with a tutor

People often say that two heads are better than one, but in my experience, I am always more productive if I work by myself. If I were working on a school project, I personally would rather work alone than with classmates or a tutor. There are two reasons for this, which I will discuss in the following paragraphs. For one, I prefer working alone on projects because this allows me to work at my own pace. When working with a team or a mentor, I must adjust to other people’s schedules. There are meetings to plan and tasks to delegate, which takes a lot of time. But, when I work by myself, I can do the work when I am motivated and inspired to do it. I can draw from personal experience to highlight this perspective. Once I had a school project in biology to do with a group of four people. We were all very busy students, with part-time jobs and extra-curricular activities. It was almost impossible to schedule a time for all of us to meet. Because of this, we got started too late. Each of our parts of the project was disconnected and thrown together, and ultimately our overall score was low because we didn’t have time to work on the project. If I had just done the whole project myself, I know I would have received a better grade. For this reason, working alone is better for me because I can work according to my own timetable. The second reason I prefer to work by myself on projects is that everyone creates a different level of quality in their work for the group. Sometimes when working with classmates, a few of them are lazier than I am. I always want to do the best job I can, so it is better for me to work alone. For example, I was working on a presentation with schoolmates in high school once, and two of the students in the group didn’t do their share of the work. Ultimately, I had to do my part and their parts as well. It would have been better and easier for me to just do all the work myself than to be frustrated and wait until the last minute for my team to let me down. Because I always give 100 percent on a project, and not everyone else does, it is just better for me to work by myself. In conclusion, if I were working on a school project, I would rather work alone. Working by myself allows me to go at my own pace, and it also allows me to do my best quality work without having to depend on others for my grade.