In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays the world's population is rising as well as the number of people relocating from the rural area to cities and towns. Since the amount of dwellers is expected to increase in the future, I strongly believe that this change has many downsides. Although some people argue that living in a city provides more amenities and opportunities rather than being located in the countryside, I think that the disadvantages outweigh the advantages. Firstly, due to the high cost of living in a metropolis, flats and housing estates in cities are becoming more and more expensive. For instance, rents in Milan are overpriced and many off-side students cannot afford them. In addition, a by-product of this situation is the creation of slums and inadequate and unsafe housing. As a result, some low-income families are trapped in unhealthy and dangerous conditions that are difficult to escape. The growth of urban areas leads to pollution and traffic congestion too. Many individuals take their private vehicles to move from the outskirts to the inner city because there is not an efficient and cost-effective public transportation system. As a matter of fact, travelling around the cities could take a lot more by bus rather than by car. Furthermore, a lot of diseases are spreading because air quality is getting worse. As a consequence, many people suffer from various serious illnesses, for instance, lung cancer. To sum up, urbanisation has many disadvantages. For one thing, living in a city is really expensive, for another it makes the world more polluted and causes traffic jams. In my view, this situation cannot be defined as an improvement.