Some people think that countries should limit the amount of food that they import and mainly eat products from their own country. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some argue that people should eat more local food and governments should restrict the amount of imported food. I generally agree with this idea due to possible international conflicts and economic effects, but there are some drawbacks as well including high costs of some items. First and foremost, relying on trading threatens the stability of dietary life. More specifically, nobody can precisely predict a future conflict with other countries such as wars, which can lead to stopping trading completely. If some important ingredients are dependent on these countries, their scarcity would be a serious issue that endangers our daily lives. Recently, China was against Japan's attitude about releasing water from nuclear power stations and stopped importing any seafood. This affected a number of restaurants in China and they have to find alternatives. Therefore, countries should not rely on any important products from foreign nations. Moreover, by developing the national primary industry including farming and fishing, the economy of the country is expected to be stimulated and improve the quality of life. As fewer overseas competitors exist due to this remedy, more products produced within the country would be purchased, so producers would earn greater income. Consequently, more items are produced in better quality and the economy as a whole is stimulated. However, there are disadvantages to this solution. For instance, there are some items that can be made at a high cost only. For example, flour is one of the fundamental ingredients as it is used for various foods such as cakes and bread. On the other hand, it requires a vast farmland and thus it is difficult to make it in Japan. Hence, flour produced in Japan tends to be much more expensive than foreign ones like the one from the US. This leads to more food expenses and a worse lifestyle. In conclusion, although some items can be produced at a high cost, the overall benefits outweigh its drawbacks because of the food security and the economic effect.