Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycling more of their waste?

With the out-of-range resource consumption of societies all over the world, the need to recycle is more important than ever. It is argued that in order to recycle more, administrations should pass some legislation. Although law-making for this matter is crucial, I think society itself should feel the urge for saving natural resources by means of recycling. In this essay, I will bring some evidence to support my idea. Since the formation of societies, one of the most popular ways to make people do something is by enacting laws. Also, in the matter of recycling, we need legislation to support it. In fact, the law-enactment gives authorities power to oversee the process of recycling. By means of this, the administrations can both recognize the disobeyed folks who do not recycle properly and acquaint themselves with the possible weaknesses that the ruling may have. Nevertheless, as important as passing legislation are, governments should consider some challenges. For example, one consideration is the way law suggests proper overseeing. If the law cannot propose a strategy to recognize folks who disobey and charge them, passing it through is a causeless job to do. However, rules are not the only way to teach people to recycle. People only obey the law when they accept its philosophy. And this is not happening but with public education for both adults and youngsters. Through means of communication, governments and NGOs should inform the community about the shortage of natural resources and how recycling can preserve these resources. Also, they should teach society how to recycle efficiently. Besides, children should learn about recycling too. Schools ought to learn them about the methods of recycling and show them what is going to happen if they are not recycling. One other thing that can help the process of learning is taking them on field trips and showing them the major recycling centres of their city. In conclusion, even though law-making is important, informing society through education and cultivation is more. In this way, not only do they obey the rules but also they can help the authorities to recycle more efficiently.