In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

"Nothing is impossible" is one of the famous sayings that most people could refer to in any hard situation. This is not totally wrong because, in some places, people have already been told the same thing since they were young by their parents. It does sound like good words of encouragement, however, it also has some downsides to children's way of thinking and behaviour. Telling children that they can be anything they want and get everything they desire as long as they work hard to achieve it is actually a good way to give positive energy to them. By encouraging them to keep trying, they will not break down easily. This way of persuading will also give them other good manners as they grow up, such as a competitiveness and boost in their confidence. In addition, I also believe that children who are taught this way for a considerable amount will be able to get the silver lining for each trial and avoid making the same mistakes in the future. In simple words, this encouraging act will also help them to practice critical thinking. But of course, every good thing also comes with its own downsides. In contrast to all of the advantages, telling ones that everything is possible to get will also bring some unpreferred impacts, especially to their characters. In some cases, they might have too much trust in themselves which makes them over-confident. This type of child tends to do anything to achieve their goals, which includes ignoring others and leaving out feelings. The thought of having the ability to achieve anything might increase their confidence, yet it might also decrease their empathy towards their peers or families. To conclude, it is a good thing to encourage children to work hard and keep trying until they achieve their dreams. However, it is very important to apply it in just a considerable manner, so they will not feel as if they are being forced to meet their goals. Thus, parents also need to carefully think about the disadvantages that this thought would bring to their children.