Some people think that physical strength is important for success in sports, while other people think that mental strength is more important. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

To be a successful athlete, a person needs to be excellent at both his physical and mental strength. Some individuals believe muscle is vital for sportsmen to gain success in sports, while others argue that being spiritually strong contributes more significantly to the achievement of sportsmen. This essay will discuss these two aspects and express my approval of the former idea. On the one hand, athletes need to be mentally strong to be successful in their fields for various reasons. Firstly, confidence plays an important part in every performance of batters. Without believing in themselves and their abilities, athletes cannot do well in contests. Secondly, batters should be determined in trying to achieve their goals. Success needs time and relentless efforts to possess. Therefore, being determined will help them to have the motivation and get over failure to continue following their career paths. Thirdly, it is necessary that athletes stay strong against the witnessing of audiences. For example, when a sportsman does a mistake in his performance, haters may criticize him for it. As a result, he will be negatively affected if he is not well-prepared for situations like these. On the other hand, I am of the opinion that physical strength is the key factor leading to success in sports. Sports are often physically demanding as ones must be extremely fit to compete with others for titles. To explicate, sporting events are held with a view to finding the most skilled and strongest athletes, not finding people with the greatest mental strength, although being mentally strong is an important aspect of sports. There are numerous sports that only require pure strength to be the champion such as marathons, wrestling, or boxing. For instance, Cong Phuong, a professional football player, had to struggle to play against taller and stronger opponents in Jleage. For that reason, a weak person may stand little chance of winning a sporting contest regardless of his confidence and skills. In conclusion, despite the fact that sportsmen need to be spiritually fit, I believe strength is the most necessary aspect for an athlete to gain success in his field.