In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message ?

We are living in a society which makes us believe that we can reach everything we want, if we only try hard enough. This mentality is brought to us by the media and the entertainment industry and is especially widespread among children. Despite the fact, that this way of thinking might have a positive impact on them there are also drawbacks to this attitude. This essay will examine the advantages and disadvantages of the ‚everything is possible mentalitymentality‘ and will provide a logical conclusion. Starting by looking at the advantages, one major plus point is that this way of thinking leads to a positive attitude in children minds, especially when dealing with difficult tasks. It will help them to stay strong and to keep the faith, even though they are afraid to fail. Take a young girl, who just started practising riding a bike as an example. As this girl had never ridden a bike before, she is very miserable in it, and might stumble and fall very often. These failures and mistakes will prove themself as very motivating to her and might even up in result that she wants to give up. But if she was trained to have a positive mentality about it she won't give up and reach her goal eventually. Therefore, this way of thinking, despite the actual outcome, is in some situations the only way to continue working ittowards it towards. On the other hand, can this mentality also mislead some Children in believing that they can reach something which there will actually never be able to achieve out of personal or financial reasons. And this will have a negative Impact on the Child's self-esteem and mental health. For, example will a little boy who has absolutely no talent for singing never ends up being the next superstar., Nevertheless will this little boy continue practising and maybe even participating in contests and performances, because he is assured of his talents. After, all he will sooner or later learn, the hard way, that society thinks differently by a public negative critic or laughter. To sum up, there are both positives and negatives to the mentality that children can achieve everything they set their mind to if they just work hard enough. In my Opinion this way of thinking is beneficial for many children as it set up a strong motivation and willpower. However, does this unfortunately not match to every situation and therefore might just end up in frustrations, low self-esteem and depression. Therefore is it important to teach children what is and what is not likely to be achieved.