Some people think that one good way to promote world peace is through international sporting events, while others think that it is not. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Retaining world peace is a challenge these days. Many argue that sports events conducted at an international level might cultivate peace among countries. I completely disagree with this statement because international sports events not only develop enmity among the people but also paves way for hatred in one's own country upon losing a match. Though many events conducted for sports bring together people and governments, it only creates rivalry within the audience. This is because, in the name of showing support, observers tend to split into groups resulting in arguments and comments during the match resulting in fights within themselves. In multi-cultural countries such as India, where people from different religions live together, during sports events like cricket matches, disputes will be created in the name of support thus breaking the peace that has been prevailing in the country. Moreover, when the country being supported loses the match, out of dejection, the fans develop hatred for the players which in turn gets projected onto the country. As a result, violence breaks out at key locations of the nation leading to a lack of peace within it, leading to pressure on the law enforcement department to control the anger outbursts. For instance, during a cricket match in 2009, when India lost against Pakistan, a huge mass gathered in front of India's cricket team caption and protests outbroke in front of his house leading to nuisance to the public and damaging the country's reputation. In conclusion, despite countries being brought together to play matches, this does not result in world peace as games not only create a rift among the supporters of different teams but also result in violence within the country if a loss is faced.