Topic: a great city should not be confounded with a populous one. Discuss the above statement and give your own opinion

A great city not necessarily is a populous one, since a small town can be more comfortable and calmer. Nevertheless, a big city is full of activities and possibilities. Therefore, while I agree that villages can be enjoyable to live in, only populous metropolia are called great by me personally. The main reason why small towns can be called great, in my opinion, is comfort. In such places, everything is within walking distance and within reach. Hence, residents don't need to worry about traffic jams or getting late to work. Take, for example, the hospital - in massive cities, the transportation in vital situations might take up an hour, whereas in villages and towns medical institutions are reachable in some minutes. Furthermore, the surroundings are calmer and give a more relaxing atmosphere than in densely populated cities. On the other hand, big cities are thought to be great because of the range of activities. The idiom "the city never sleeps" gives a good example - activities in densely populated cities vary from dancing classes to nightclubs and are never-ending. Moreover, a massive amount of people living in such an area require many institutions from hospitals to governments, that are possible to reach easier than from the countryside. It gives not only comfort, but also more possibilities - and working is one of them. Thus, while understanding the arguments to suggest that small towns might also be great, because of my personal characteristic and experiences I tend to give this name only to densely populated cities. I would die of boredom were I to live in a calm place without a variety of activities. To conclude, both types of places to live have their pros and cons. Cities, towns and villages in the countryside are calmer and more comfortable, whereas densely populated areas have a bigger variety of activities and possibilities. Notwithstanding, I find big cities better for me.