It has been said “not everything that is learned is contained in books”. compare and contrast knowledge gained from experience with knowledge gained from books. In your opinion which source is more important? Why?

There are two main methods for us to acquire new knowledge. The first is to learn from books, while the other is to learn through personal practice. This essay compares the different properties of these two ways. Although both approaches have their merits, I think reading books is a greater approach for us to learn. To start with, learning a lesson from personal experience deepens our understanding of the theories from books. For instance, even after reading through the details of data structures and common algorithms, I had not completely mastered them and understood how to apply them until I finished my programming assignments with coding. Furthermore, after I graduated from college and got involved in big projects, I came to get the essence of some core concepts in software engineering and design patterns in books. On the other hand, it is more efficient for us to acquire new stuff from books because it is not realistic to learn everything from personal practice while our energy and time are limited. The emergence of books contributes a lot to the civilization of humankind. Through books, we could learn from others, stand on the shoulder of the giants and avoid repeating others' experiments, thus saving us tons of time to explore more about the world. To illustrate, it is never possible for me to grasp the principal theories of computer science that have evolved for decades without books, let alone to put the theories into practice. In conclusion, what we get from experience is more impressive and could enhance our understanding of what we have learnt. However, I believe getting knowledge from books is more critical than experience. Because it is more efficient than practice, and it is unnecessary to experiment with everything ourselves to learn something.