In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message ?

Parents often wish their offsprings high success. That is why in many cultures guardians teach their children that in order to accomplish all their desired goals they need to work hard and be fully comitted. There are pros and cons to this statement an I will discuss them in this essay. Firstly, the main advantage to upbringing a human being in that type of mental environment is that it will boost their confidence. Thus, if a child is reminded that he is the one in control of his own achievements he will less likely be discouraged when facing drawbacks. For example, I remember when I first started preparing for the IELTS exam, the first thing my mother said to me is that with enough training and trials there would be no reasons for me to not obtain the score I wanted. Her statement stuck with me and it encouraged me to not give up when I failed to reach my desired goal the first time. Therefore, teaching youngsters how to be resilient in their work often reminds them to keep trying even after few failures. On the other hand, repeatedly forcing children to always give their hundred percent in everything will result in stressing them out which will impact their physical and mental health. Eventually, when teenagers are pressured to excel in every school subjects they end up burning out before they even begin working. For instance, a recent article demonstrated that high schools in Japan held the best success rates in terms of college acceptance, however, students in these schools presented ten times more signs of clinical depression compared to senior year students in the US. Thereby, overachieving is often a double edged sword and mental health can be its price. To conclude, many cultures teach their youth that hard work is the major key to success. While confidence is the main good point to this advice, burnouts and depression are the main disadvantages.