In many countries around the world, life expectancy is increasing. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this situation and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, people live longer in contrast with the past in a lot of nations. This essay will demonstrate how an increase in life length can lead to severe economic damages, but will also illustrate its benefit on the mental health of society. Although this negative side is a significant one, the essay will argue that the pros of the expectation of life outweigh the cons. The principle problem with the ageing population is that there would be fewer job opportunities available for the young generation. As a tremendous example of this, we can mention Italy where the average length of life is extremely high, and due to this issue, many recently graduated students have problems finding a job. As the living period increases, the older generation will keep working, and the result is fewer career choices for the new generation who seek careers. However, a growth in life duration may have some positive effects as well. One of its obvious advantages is an escalation in the elimination of society's mental health. Countries with such high living duration, for instance Germany, take full advantage of this trend. While individuals' hope to live rose, German authorities noticed a dramatic decrease in the total suicide rate in 2021. Since suicidal thoughts are major results of mental health problems, having hope to live longer decreases mental well-being in the whole society. In conclusion, even though longer life lengths can result in a lack of job opportunities, it tremendously solves mental problems such as having suicidal thoughts. Hence, the plus side of increased life duration outweighs its drawbacks.