Some people believe that governments should make the ​investment in building public libraries in every town, while others think it is a waste of money because we have access to information via the Internet. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, with an increasing number of online resources it is becoming extremely popular to use online books, instead of paper ones. Consequently, while it is argued that it is not necessary to contribute to establishing libraries in towns, others believe they are still required in society. This essay will explore both viewpoints and provide my own opinion in conclusion. On the one hand, public libraries positively affect citizens as they provide exclusive paperwork for free. Allowing librarians to utilise materials without paying leads to gaining knowledge along with saving money. For example, in Melbourne, the Port Melbourne libraries offer a variety of resources for students who want to achieve a high score in the IELTS exam, whereas the same content needs to be paid for on the online reading platforms. As a result, borrowing books from libraries is a more economical way to receive education with no commission. On the other hand, even though people should pay for certain online materials, it is still a very convenient activity. While individuals use E- books, magazines and journals via reading internet platforms, they do not have to spend time travelling to a library staying at home in their comfort zone. For instance, to accomplish assignments for a bachelor's degree in Australia it is essential to use a wide range of materials including scientific articles, books, and research which take a long time to find in a library and also to carry them. Therefore, students browse the internet for efficient content feeling more comfortable at home and spending less time for a search. In conclusion, both public libraries and online resources have their advantages and drawbacks associated with financial expenses and a comfortable environment. I truly believe, that even though the internet promotes a vast amount of information, borrowing books still holds value. Libraries provide easy access to resources, especially for those who cannot use the internet, like older individuals or people with additional needs.