The best way to solve the world's environmental problem is to increase the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, there has been a debate on whether the expense of fuel for cars and other vehicles should be raised in order to address environmental issues. Personally, I completely disagree with this point of view. First of all, the act of increasing the price of vehicles’ fuel in order to tackle environmental problems is generally ineffective and unwise. Even if the cost of gas were to experience considerable growth, it is unlikely that the demand for private vehicles will alleviate. One explanation can be given is that people have become over-reliant on private transportations. Most of them find it significantly more comfortable and convenient to travel by cars or motorbikes in comparison to using public transportations such as buses or trains. As such, the constant need for automobiles, as well as the hazardous environmental impacts originating from this demand, are still apparent despite the soaring gas prices. Furthermore, if the value of gas is remarkably elevated, there are a number of outcomes that are guaranteed to be financially unfavourable for the economy. It should be taken into consideration that fossil fuel is essential to many industries that provide necessary goods for people. So as a consequence, when the cost of fuel rises, the price of daily commodities will witness an increase as well. This phenomenon will directly produce a predicament for developing countries that are already in deficiency of goods such as food. When products' prices skyrocketed, the citizens from those countries will find themselves unable to afford daily items, leaving them to face incredible hardships and difficulties. In conclusion, I disagree with the view that elevating the cost of fuel is the most practical way to deal with environmental issues. This is due to the fact that not only this proposal proves to be inefficacious, but it also can be disastrous for poorer countries' economies and citizens.