The young today spend a large amount of their leisure time in shopping centres. It is feared that this could have a negative influence on the young and society. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this view?

These days, adolescents are spending a vast portion of their leisure time in shopping centers. I believe that even though shopping centers are a safe place for spending with friends and families, inordinate time spent in malls may impact both the individual and society adversely. In the following paragraphs, I shall propound my reasons. To begin with, I believe that people had better spend their free time to rejuvenate their minds and restore their physical energy in order to get prepared for their daily responsibilities as a member of society. However, spending time in a shopping centre is a passive activity that not only refreshes an individual's energy but also all the hectic stimuli of city life can have opposite effects. Also,, usually shopping centers are located in the middle of cities, far from nature and fresh air, Which can not contribute to a teenager's health. On the other hand, if a teenager spends lots of time in shopping centers, he may be tempted to spend all his money on purchasing unnecessary goods. Even though purchasing products bring about happiness and satisfaction, such feeling is temporary and addictive. For example, a young person, who has done poorly in an exam may go to a shopping mall and splash out all his money to buy himself happiness, being reluctant that this kind of satisfaction is short-term. On the other hand, addictive shopping and consumerization are not without untold harm to the environment. From a scientist's point of view, irregular shopping may lead to pollution, since the more the demand is, the more the supply will be. However, shopping centres are usually not only a target place for shopping but also are facilitated with cafes and restraunets, offering adolescents a safe place to have reunions and meet with friends. Spending free time at shopping centers once in a while is not a bad option, as long as young people are not addicted to it. To conclude, I believe that since shopping is a passive activity and shopping centers are located far from nature, this habit can not benefit a young person's health. Moreover, addictive shopping has consequences for society. However, if adolescents are careful about how much time they spend in shopping malls, this will not cause any harm.